Don’t Let Doubt Control Your Faith


Don’t let doubt control your faith, let your faith control your doubt.

Instead of “If You can, Jesus” believe “I know You can!”

“If” opens the door for doubt to come in, stay a while, wreak havoc on our confidence and destroy our perspective on God’s impossibilities becoming our reality. On the other hand, a declaration of determined resolve puts doubt outside in the cold where his power is frozen solid, unable to corrupt our God-given trust in His Son.

It’s all in our perspective. I’ve heard it said that our battles are won in the mind. They can be lost there, too. If we perceive our situation as larger and more complicated than our powerful God, then we will lose the battle of faith in our mind and eventually our heart.

When my faith is weak, I like to declare God’s truth about His ability. It helps me refocus my energy and my assurance. These are just a few declarations that have encouraged me along the way (and still do.) The battle against doubt is never over; it is an ongoing war, yet it can be won every time with these truths. Read, declare and be lifted up, my friend.

1.) My small faith can move  mountains. “Truly I tell you, if you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move. Nothing will be impossible for you.” Matthew 17:20

2.) My faith believes that God can do anything! Jesus looked at them and said, “With man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible.” Matthew 19:26

3.) My faith sees that God is able, even when I am not. Jesus replied, “What is impossible with man is possible with God.” Luke 18:27

 4.) My faith can inherit God’s promises. “Then you will not become spiritually dull and indifferent. Instead, you will follow the example of those who are going to inherit God’s promises because of their faith and endurance.” Hebrews 6:12

5.) My faith pleases God. “And without faith, it is impossible to please God because anyone who comes to him must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who earnestly seek him.” Hebrews 11:6

6.) My faith in God helps me experience even more than what I ask. “Now all glory to God, who is able, through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we might ask or think.” Ephesians 3:20

God gives us a heart of love and trust for Him, don’t give it back. Doubt in His ability returns the gift. Instead, offer the heart He gave you to Him full of total conviction that He is Who He says He is, and He can do what He says He can do.

God is good.

He is faithful.

He is love.

He is grace.

But He is also the mightiest force any of our circumstances can confront. Nothing trumps His power.

However, when we doubt we choose to limit His mighty work in, around and through us.

For James instructs and warns us, “When you ask, you must believe and not doubt, because the one who doubts is like a wave of the sea, blown and tossed by the wind. That person should not expect to receive anything from the Lord.” James 1:6-7 

Believe my friend! Jesus, our Savior and our God is worthy and trustworthy. He is the, I AM. The One who can!

 

2 thoughts on “Don’t Let Doubt Control Your Faith

Leave a Reply

