Overcoming the Roundabout with Worry


I have a son who loves to talk to me about his day, the happenings in his life, and his relationship with God. He is an open book; transparent to the core. When Nick has had a rough day for whatever reason, I hear about that too. He will often start with those things that are worrying him or frustrating him. At times, you would think that his world is coming to an end. Full of anxiety, he shares his hopeless view and the changes he needs to make to fix it.

He talks. I listen.

I will say a word or two that just might turn the tide a bit, hoping he rides the wave to better seas. As the conversation continues, he jumps on that positive wave and begins to see how God is working. How God can overcome. How God is the One he needs to look to. It’s quite a roundabout that we go through together as he processes the stuff in his life.

In all honesty, Nick reminds me of David, the man after God’s own heart. I can only imagine that David sat at the foot of His Father in heaven, having the same type of conversation. He lamented his troubles, “Lord, how long will You forget me? Forever? How long will You hide Your face from me? How long will I store up anxious concerns within me, agony in my mind every day? How long will my enemy dominate me?”

The waves of life seem to overtake David. If he stopped there in his Psalm, we would think that God was not faithful. That God was not there for him. That there was no hope for David to ever overcome.

What was David experiencing?

The stresses of this life can indeed overwhelm. It can obscure our view of God’s faithfulness. Some might tell us that we need to just think positive. Or we should never complain about life; or not give into the thought that life is bad. Instead, we should seek the good always.

Well in part that is true, but let’s be honest. Life is real and it is meant to be lived in the real. David didn’t neglect the reality of his hopeless situation. Nor should we. In many ways, I think it’s good to start there. It helps us see the magnitude of God’s incomparable power and hope. However, if we camp there too long, we may very well embrace the lie of the enemy and believe that God doesn’t really care for us. Thankfully this is not where David camped.

As we continue down David’s roundabout we discover that he followed the path of wisdom. Even though all of life at that moment in time was gloom and doom, David recapped who God is. He made the decision to turn the tide of his misery and find promise.

“But I have trusted in Your faithful love; my heart will rejoice in Your deliverance. I will sing to the Lord because He has treated me generously.”

Because my son follows the Lord with his whole heart and reads the word of God daily, the Spirit of God is able to remind him of God’s promise to be with him. The Spirit of God reminds Nick of God’s past faithfulness in his life.

The Spirit instructs. The Spirit retells. The Spirit encourages. The Spirit exalts. Oh, how the Spirit does so much for us!

Not only do my son and David resemble each other, their experiences resemble my own. Yours’s too.

Even when we feel like the enemy is succeeding at triumphing over us, or when we choose to dance a dirge with fear and doubt, let us come home. Let us end the dance with faith and trust in our God. End the roundabout with praise and rejoicing.

Let us never forget who God is and has been to us in our life. Let’s choose to remember that God has always treated us generously and He will never cease to continue.

I love the lyrics to “Cast Your Cares” by Finding Favor. These lyrics can give us great hope when we are in the battle. To me, this song is a modern day version of Psalm 13 sung by David. If we just simply cast our cares on Jesus and trust that He is not only fully capable of taking them all, He is also willing to help us ride the wave of victory.

When fear feels bigger than my faith

And struggles steal my breath away

When my back’s pressed up against the wall

With the weight of my worries stacked up tall

You’re strong enough to hold it all

I will cast my cares on You

You’re the anchor of my hope

The only one who’s in control

I will cast my cares on You

I’ll trade the troubles of this world

For Your peace inside my soul

This war’s not what I would’ve chosen

But You see the future no one knows yet

And there’s still good when I can’t

See the working of Your hands

You’re holding it all

I’m finding there’s freedom

When I lay it all on Your shoulders

Leave a Reply

