Waiting, When Our Loved Ones Pass On


My heart is heavy for those who have lost loved ones. I see the pictures posted on Facebook of those who have passed. My sadness runs deep for those who are left behind. I keep thinking that their heart just wants to go back to when their loved ones were here or just leave here and join them on their journey. Separation was not what they planned or wanted. It never is!

It has always been doubly discouraging to me that many lose their loved ones around the holidays. But today, for the first time, I see a blessing in this. For it’s during the holidays, we are more keenly aware of our Savior. And this is good; for it is He who heals, comforts and gives us the fortitude to carry on. It is during the holidays, we pursue the Lord even more. We long for the One who offers us good. And He delivers!

This does not take away the sadness. For those who have passed on from this life to eternity will be greatly missed; memories are comforting; but their absence is so painful. In all this I am reminded of a valuable truth in the midst of great loss and in the waiting process to see those we love again.

Death has a way of teaching us that life on this earth is temporary. I’m so glad!

We are just sojourning here. We are just passing through till we come to our final home. It’s wonderful to know that loss, suffering, worry, persecution and pain in this world is NOT our end. Instead our end is…

Glory

Hope

Peace

Joy

It’s gazing into the beautiful face of our eternal salvation – Jesus Christ.

Our loved ones who have passed on from this temporary home know this so well now. If they could, they would tell us, “You are not going to believe what I’m looking at today! God’s creation on earth doesn’t compare to what I’m seeing here! I can’t wait to share it with you when you arrive!”

Until we arrive home with them, what can we do?

How can we wait fruitfully?

How can our sojourning be well spent?

My mom sends me a text this morning to encourage me. She knows that I’m waiting. I’m hoping. I’m wondering. I’m trusting. She knows I fear a potential loss of my loved one. I feel unprepared for this. I pray for it to not come. But I also know that to never suffer is not an assurance in this life. Quite the opposite. It’s inevitable. It is not my choice to choose what happens. It is my choice to walk faithfully in God’s will for whatever happens. Yes, I pray for good, I pray for safety. I pray that my loved one will come home – whole, safe, and alive. And that is certainly okay to do. I believe God can answer this prayer. However, I am learning to direct my heart to trust God’s will in whatever comes. I’m trusting that His will is greater than my longing.

So, my mom sends me some “wait” statements that she found in “The Treasury of David” by Charles Spurgeon – his classic work on the Psalms. I see that these are “wait” statements that I can do. I’m encouraged.

And as you wait for that re-connection with your loved one one day, I pray these “wait” statements will comfort you as they have comforted me in my waiting; I pray they will give you direction – that next step forward as you sojourn here on earth.

Wait at Jesus’ door with prayers.

Wait at Jesus’ feet with humility.

Wait at Jesus’ table with service.

Wait at Jesus’ window with expectation.

In the midst of all sorts of suffering we face in this world, we can trust that we will see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living; in the land of hope; in the land of eternity. As we courageously wait, we gain strength, we grow in wisdom and faith, and we prepare ourselves for that day we finally go home.

“I am certain that I will see the Lord’s goodness in the land of the living. Wait for the Lord; be strong and courageous. Wait for the Lord.” (Psalm 27: 13-14).

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

