The “I Wills” that Change the Trajectory of Human Life


“Therefore, say to the Israelites: ‘I am the LORD, and I will bring you out from under the yoke of the Egyptians. I will free you from being slaves to them, and I will redeem you with an outstretched arm and with mighty acts of judgment. I will take you as my own people, and I will be your God. Then you will know that I am the LORD your God, who brought you out from under the yoke of the Egyptians. And I will bring you to the land I swore with uplifted hand to give to Abraham, to Isaac and to Jacob. I will give it to you as a possession. I am the LORD.’ ” (Exodus 6:6-8).

I will bring you out from the yoke of the Egyptians” is a symbol of Jesus rescuing us from the bondage of sin – sin that bounds us to eternal death and total separation from God. The leaven of the old life filled with malice and wickedness is now renewed with the unleavened life filled with sincerity and truth. We could never know the new without passing through the blood waters of Christ’s sacrifice. The “I will” would have been nothing but a distant “I wish.”

I will free you from being slaves to them” is a symbol of a war that has been won in our souls against the sinful nature Adam and Eve planted in our spirits from birth.  Freedom from sin gives us a fresh start in the sinless realm of liberty. There is hope that we can do what God desired in the beginning when He created heaven and earth. His goal was to make a place of beauty without evil; a place of close relationship between his children and himself. But unfortunately, sin did enter and changed the course of this dream, but because of Jesus’ sacrifice, we can now experience in our life “his love enduring forever.”

I will redeem you with an outstretched arm and with mighty acts of judgment.” An outstretched arm indicates that God is going to do something GREAT! We are now able to experience something great and wonderful from our Savior. Not only do we have salvation, which is certainly an amazing change in our life, but we have the ongoing power of the Holy Spirit working in and through us. The power of God now can live and move inside a broken, sinful vessel like us. We are made complete because Jesus took upon himself the mighty act of judgment for all sin.

I will take you as my people and I will be your God” is the most profound blessing of all. We are his beloved and he is ours. We are able to come into the garden of purity and waltz with our Savior – a dance of peace and hope. We are able to fully obey our Lord, keeping in step with his covenant; we are his most treasured possession, a kingdom of priests and a holy people of our Great God and Savior.

“I will bring you to the land I swore with uplifted hand” – a land flowing with grace and truth; a land filled with everlasting love; a land without evil, without temptation, without anything that would distract us from total submission and adoration of our Father in heaven. Doesn’t that sound heavenly? It should, because it will be. We will live in a place of perfect peace; a place where we no longer toil in suffering and contempt.

Our greatest possession is not gold and silver; it is the arms of our God and Savior. He embraces us with his mighty hand and loves us like a father loves his child and cares for us like a mother cares for her young. These wills represent His will for each of us. The will of God is so much greater than any will of the world. We are blessed. We are grateful. What a time for us to be thankful. We are recipients of God’s long awaited prophecy that changed the trajectory of life eternal for all people. We get to live the brighter side of Jesus’ life.

 

 

Leave a Reply

